Udon day, pizza day and mountain climbing! - Reisverslag uit Matsumoto, Japan van Tim Dungen - WaarBenJij.nu Udon day, pizza day and mountain climbing! - Reisverslag uit Matsumoto, Japan van Tim Dungen - WaarBenJij.nu

Udon day, pizza day and mountain climbing!

Door: Tim

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tim

07 September 2013 | Japan, Matsumoto

On day 9 we picked up Michaëlya from the train station and returned by bus to the apartments. The rest of the day was lazy until we went of for dinner! This time we (again) went to Denden.

Dendens restaurant isn't your average restaurant. It is a small room with on one side a bar, the teller and the television. The other side had some tables. In the back was the kitchen and one big table (where we were put). Also available was a large collection of anime figurines and manga to read. It all had a very homely sphere.
The first thing that happened when I entered was complete and utter silence. Everybody, even the staff, looked up at me and went silent. I'm not entirely sure why this happened or if I did something wrong (I'm pretty sure I did nothing wrong as I just walked in). After this short instance of staring of the weird foreigner who entered their lair they continued with their business.

We then sat down at the table and after waiting a short while we could order our food. Three of us took the Denden udon and the fourth took a dish with chicken and egg. The udon was really taste and the broth was also very good. After finishing 1.5 portion (person next to me couldn't finish it) we moved back to get some rest.

Day 10: We did nothing special and ate pizza in Japanese style. The pizza wasn't that bad, but I wouldn't call it good either. I wouldn't go back to that particular restaurant for their pizza (they do have other nice dishes). After this meal we moved back to get some rest as we going mountain climbing the day after!

Mountain climbing day!
We met up with an ex-student from my college. He would be our tour guide for what was going to be a 4 hour long walk. We took a wrong turn at some point and the road up the mountain became somewhat longer than was suppose to be. Half way through our walk it also started raining and none of us had rain gear with us. So after a longer than normal walk, of which half we were soaking wet, we ended up where we wanted to be. There was a big lake with a small inn near it. We had lunch here and I had my first portion of ramen!

Ramen has noodles as the main ingredient. The flavours can vary now and then. My ramen had a small piece of pork in it, some bamboo strips and spring union. This is all served in a broth which can be drunk after eating everything. I believe this is the standard ramen flavour. It was very tasty. After this meal we headed back down the mountain. It was still raining like mad and we got soaking wet again. After about 2,5 hours we managed to get back and I could take a hot shower.

Tomorrow my legs will most likely hurt like hell as I'm not used to mountain walks. Later on the night I will have my first bath in Japan! The little Japanese bath that is in my apartment is a sitting bath and I can barely get in it :P So this will be another challenge for me to overcome.

Regards,

Tags: Japan, Matsumoto

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Tim

Hello everybody! This will be my blog about my study-internship to Japan.

Actief sinds 20 Aug. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 141
Totaal aantal bezoekers 12569

Voorgaande reizen:

26 Augustus 2013 - 13 Februari 2014

My trip to Japan

Landen bezocht: